Journal Entry #6

It has been a few days since our second last carpentry class and after spending hours chiseling the mortise-and-tenon joints at home and school, I have reluctantly come to the conclusion that my project will not be completely done at the end of the course. This realization has not been easy for me, as I cannot recall the last time I did not complete a project. As much as it is something I grapple with, it is important for me to remember, not only for myself but for the sake of my future students, that the process is often just as valuable, if not more than the end product. Succinctly put:

“Life is a journey, not a destination.”

– Ralph Waldo Emerson –
88
This particular chapter in my journey has been a challenge, but an immense privilege and joy as well. Blistered hands aside, it has been an experience that I would repeat in a heartbeat. I never imagined that I would have the opportunity to learn about this field of study and, while I doubt I will ever end up teaching carpentry, one never quite knows what the future holds … Regardless of whether carpentry will directly play a role in my professional life, it already has indirectly, and I think it would be something that I would pursue in my personal one.
Leave a Reply

